Courgette Chips and Fried Green Tomatoes

… Recipes to make veg less healthy!!!

Haha, yes, these two recipes are not particularly nutritionally beneficial, but they certainly are delicious.

courg2 photo 5 (1)

I used to get a veg box delivered and always ended up with a glut of courgettes. That’s when I started making these courgette chips. I should probably have used that opportunity to learn a whole host of courgette recipes, but I loved the chips so much that I would always end up sticking to this one, super simple recipe (scroll down to see it!). 

As for the fried green tomatoes… For some reason earlier this week I had a sudden crazy craving for fried green tomatoes. I’m not sure I’ve even had them before. If I had it would have most likely been around 14 years ago –  they’re a traditional recipe from the southern states, and the only time I’ve been there was when I was 10 years old. I think it’s more likely that I read a great article about them somewhere (I can’t think where!) and subconsciously ruminated on it until I simply HAD to have them.

Finding green tomatoes in the UK is no mean feat. I just wish I could grow my own! Ideally for Fried Green Tomatoes you’d use big, firm, beef tomatoes that smell as fresh and grassy as a tomato plant itself (my most favourite of smells!). The only ones I could find were small, just-ripening tomatoes. They worked fine and were delicious, but the greener the better. You can use ripe tomatoes, but they’ll end up mushier than green ones.

I used this fried green tomatoes recipe, and here are some photos!

photo 1 (2)
My little tomatoes

photo 2 (2)
Salting the tomatoes

photo 3 (2)
Resting the coated tomatoes. This really helped the coating stick!

photo 4

photo 5 (1)
Ta daa! The tomatoes were sooooo delicious, just what I needed! I ate the remainder cold the next day.

Courgette Chips

RECIPE

You will need:

Courgettes – I used 1 regular sized courgette, and ate it all to myself, naturally.
A bowl of seasoned plain flour and grated parmesan
Oil for frying

1. Chop your courgette into batons of whatever size you like.

photo 1 (2) copy

2. Roll the batons in the flour mix and tap off the excess.

courgphoto 2 (2) copy

3. Shallow-fry the chips in a pan, turning with tongs until all sides of the chips are golden brown. Fry until they reach a state of done-ness that you are happy with.

courg2

4. Serve and eat immediately. They are delicious with aioli!

photo 5 (1) copy

Let me know what you think!

